Local News

Thirteen N.C. counties disaster areas because of flooding

Posted March 22, 2010 3:20 p.m. EDT
Updated March 22, 2010 7:47 p.m. EDT

— The U.S. Department of Agriculture on Monday declared 13 North Carolina counties disaster areas because flooding late last year led to extensive crop losses.

The designation allows eligible farmers to be considered for Farm Service Agency emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.

The 13 affected counties are Camden, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Durham, Granville, Green, New Hanover, Onslow, Orange, Pasquotank, Pender and Washington. Farmers in 26 adjacent counties also can file for government assistance.

Gov. Beverly Perdue requested the disaster declaration on Feb. 18 after farmers in the 13 counties reported a 30 percent or greater loss of at least one major crop. Soybean, cotton and wheat crops were the hardest hit.

“We must protect our farmers, their livelihoods and the jobs they create and sustain throughout tough times,” Perdue said in a statement. “Our farmers are the backbone of rural economies all over North Carolina.”

The Farm Service Agency will consider each application on its own merit by taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. Affected farmers can contact their local FSA office for more information.