Handing out the gavels

The statehouse's new GOP leaders named their new committee leaders today. Most Dems went away empty-handed.

Posted Updated

The statehouse's new GOP leaders named their picks today for legislative committee membership.  

On the House side, here's the list of committee assignments, arranged by member here, and by committee roster here.  Only one Democrat got a gavel: former House Speaker Joe Hackney was named co-chair of the Ethics Committee. He'll share that leadership position with co-chair (and Senior Finance Chair) Rep. Julia Howard. 
Senate leaders didn't reach across the aisle for their committee leaders, either.  The only Dem who got a gavel was Mike Walters, the successor to David Weinstein in Senate 13 (Hoke and Robeson).  He's co-chairing State and Local Government with Western NC Republican freshman Senator Jim Davis.  The full Senate list is here.


Copyright 2023 by Capitol Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.