Local News

Raleigh's Mayor Wins Third Term, Loses 5-3...

Posted October 7, 1997 12:00 a.m. EDT

— Two-term incumbent Raleigh Mayor Tom Fetzer has won another term, easily defeating five challengers Tuesday night. But Fetzer lost the 5-3 conservative voting bloc he has enjoyed for the past four years. At best, he will have three allies on the incoming council.

Raleigh's voter turnout was just under 20 percent, while Durham's turnout was about 14 percent.

In other Raleigh City Council races, two at-large seats were up for grabs. They went to incumbent Julie Shea Graw, who finished first, and state government manager Stephanie Fanjul, who finished second. Incumbent Marc Scruggs, a Fetzer ally, finished third.

In District A, the race was close enough for a runoff. Incumbent Kieran Shanahan will likely face challenger Keith Karlsson. In District B, two-term incumbent John Odom held off a challenge from N.C. State graduate student Thomas Caves.

Incumbent Brad Thompson swept District C, which covers most of Southeast Raleigh. In District D, environmental consultant Benson Kirk man beat newspaper man Alan Sims.

In the Wake County school board races, there were two contested seats. In District 1, Bob Luddy, with 42 percent of the vote, finished first, but is headed for a runoff with second-place finisher Kathryn Watson Quigg. Byron Harris came in third, and just 42 votes behind Quigg, according to unofficial returns.

In District 7, incumbent Judy Hoffman was elected to a third term. She defeated three challengers.

In Durham, Tuesday's primary narrowed the field to Ike Robinson, Durham's mayor pro tem, and Nick Tennyson, executive vice president of the Durham and Chapel Hill homebuilders association.

Several City Council seats also were up for grabs.

Ward 1 will have a new member. Incumbent Frank Hyman is out. There will be a runoff between former Mayor Harry Rodenheizer Jr. and Walltown activist Brenda Burnette.

In the at-large race, the top five vote-getters will face off again for three seats. Incumbent Floyd McKissick joins Mary Jacobs, John Best, Doug Biddy, and Pamela Blyth in the runoff race.

In Cumberland County, voters approved a $98 million school bond referendum, 56 to 44 percent. The money will be used for new construction and building renovations.

In Fayetteville, incumbent Mayor J.L. Dawkins will face Breeden Blackwell in a runoff. Three names were on the ballot, but Stephen Felder dropped out of the race after the ballots were printed.

In the at-large race, 11 candidates were on the ballot, with the top six moving to the runoff: incumbent Milo McBryde, Anne Fogleman, Jimmy Kizer, Marshall Pitts, incumbent Chris Dempster, and Ron Wilfrey.

In District 2, incumbent Ida Ross and Paul Williams will face one another in next month's general election.

In District 7, Curtis Worthy and Devone Kinston will face each other in the run-off. And in District Nine, Wick Smith and Suzanne Rucker advance to the general election in November.

Henderson's mayor will serve another term. Incumbent Chick Young soundly defeated challenger Eric Wilkins.