Local News

Floyd Forces Many School Systems to Close Thursday

Posted Updated

RALEIGH — Hurricane Floyd has some school systems closing their doors, including Wake and Durham counties.

Wake County Public Schoolshave canceled classes for Thursday.

Cumberland County schoolswill be closed Thursday, along with Fort Bragg Schools and Franklin County Schools.

Also closed Thursday are Granville, Greene, Harnett, Halifax and Lee County Schools.

Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schoolshave announced they will close Thursday, as will Orange County andDurham County Schools.

Both Edgecombe and Johnston County Schools will be closed Thursday, along with Johnston County offices.

Other school systems closed Thursday are Nash/Rocky Mount, Person, Sampson, Vance, Warren, Wayne and Wilson County Schools.

For the latest information onbusiness and school closings and delays, stay tuned to WRAL-TV5 and WRAL-FM.