Local News

New Generation Of Leaders In RTP

Posted Updated

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. — In 1953, as President Dwight D. Eisenhower entered his first full year in office, a group of civic minded supporters gave him a very special birthday gift. They endowed a "scholarship" program, named for him, to honor his contribution to humanity as a soldier, statesman and world leader. After serving as a general in World War II, President Eisenhower understood all too well the importance of international understanding. He believed that only through the exchange of information, ideas and perspectives among emerging leaders of the world would we ever avoid another World War. That is the mission of the Eisenhower Fellowships.

In 1999, the Eisenhower Fellowships selected the Research Triangle Park area for a unique program. It would focus attention here for at least five years. During that time, 25 people would be selected for Fellowships. Most would be between 35 and 45 years of age, with at least 20 years of community leadership ahead of them. This "corps" of leaders would work together to bring new ideas and connections to the Triangle in the hopes of making it an even better place to live and work in the future.

When five newly selected Eisenhower Fellows from the Research Triangle area travel abroad in 2003, they will take with them a host of questions.

  • How do other countries improve banking access for under-served communities?
  • How do Latin-American organizations identify, recruit and support leaders for civil society and non-governmental organizations?
  • How have countries in Western Europe successfully involved the public in developing transportation policy?
  • Each of the five Fellows will travel on intensive four-week professional Fellowship programs in countries where their fields can be enriched by the persons, organizations and institutions encountered there.

    The five Research Triangle Eisenhower Fellows are:

  • Jane Cox, Executive Director of Food Bank of North Carolina, Inc.
  • William G. Smith, President and CEO of Mutual Community Savings Bank Inc. SSB
  • Patricia Lester, Vice President for the North Carolina Center for Non-Profits
  • John Herrera, Alderman for Town of Carrboro and Vice President for Latino Affairs of Center for Community Self-Help
  • Nina Szlosberg, President of NAPRO Communications and Member of the North Carolina Board of Transportation
  • The local Eisenhower Nominating Committee, chaired by former Gov. James Holshouser, chose the five Fellows based on proven leadership and success in their respective professional fields, their potential for continued development and their long-term commitment to the greater Research Triangle region.

    Copyright 2024 by Capitol Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.