Local News

Transportation Board Considers Contracts To Resurface More Than 1,000 Miles Of Road

Posted January 7, 2003 6:26 a.m. EST

— The N.C. Board of Transportation will consider awarding contracts totaling $89.5 million for highway projects in 54 counties across the state at a meeting Thursday in Raleigh.

The contracts are for projects in Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Beaufort, Bladen, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Chatham, Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Granville, Guilford, Haywood, Henderson, Hoke, Jackson, Jones, Lee, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, Person, Pitt, Polk, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Scotland, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Watauga, Wayne, Wilkes, Yadkin and Yancey counties.

Included are contracts totaling $70.5 million to resurface 1,080 miles of state primary and secondary highways in 49 counties across the state.

The board also will consider contracts to:

- Remove intersections on U.S. 421 at Bear Hollow Road (S.R. 2537) and Lonnie Oakley Road (S.R. 2440) near Antioch in Wilkes County.

New service roads will allow motorists using Bear Hollow Road and Lonnie Oakley Road to access U.S. 421 at the nearest interchange.

- Build a 2.6-mile section of U.S. 117 from south of N.C. 581 to north of the U.S. 70 interchange in Goldsboro in Wayne County.

- Replace bridges over: Mill Creek on Island Creek Road (S.R. 1004) in Pollocksville in Jones County; Little Black Creek on Kennebec Road (S.R. 2754) east of Kennebec in Wake County; Crawley Swamp on N.C. 131 south of Guyton in Bladen County; North Fork of the Little River on Laws Store Road (S.R. 1517) northwest of Caldwell in Orange County, and Carroll Creek on Harrison Crossroad (S.R. 2037) north of Reidsville in Rockingham County.

The board meets at 9 a.m. in Room 150 of the Transportation Building located at the corner of Wilmington and Morgan streets in downtown Raleigh. At 9 a.m. on Wednesday, board committees will begin meeting in the Transportation Building.