Local Politics

Senate Democrats elect leaders

Posted December 14, 2010 3:51 p.m. EST
Updated December 14, 2010 3:56 p.m. EST

— The Democratic caucus in the state Senate on Tuesday elected Sen. Martin Nesbitt to be Senate minority leader when the General Assembly reconvenes in January.

Nesbitt, D-Buncombe, was the majority leader in the last session, but Republicans will control the Senate in the new session following major wins in the November election.

Sen. Josh Stein, D-Wake, was elected minority whip, and Sen. Charlie Dannelly, D-Mecklenburg, was named caucus chairman.