Local Politics

Mayors, Council Members Elected Across Region

Posted October 9, 2007 8:59 p.m. EDT

— Runoff elections will be needed next month to decide two seats on the Fayetteville City Council.

Bobby Hurst and Larry Clubine will face off for the District 5 seat, while Bill Crisp and Richard Evans will vie for the District 6 seat.

Incumbent Councilwoman Juanita Gonzalez lost her District 8 re-election bid to Ted Mohn, who captured 52 percent of the vote in Tuesday's primary. Meanwhile, District 4 incumbent D.J. Haire easily won another term.

Elsewhere around the region, David Combs was elected mayor of Rocky Mount after Fred Turnage decided not to seek re-election after 34 years in office.

Goldsboro Mayor Al King easily won re-election, capturing 84 percent of the vote, while in Dunn, Oscar Harris captured two-thirds of the vote to win the mayoral race over Donnie Olds.

In Southern Pines, mayoral candidates Mike Haney and Chris Smithson outdistanced three other candidates to enter a November runoff.

Tom Brown defeated Mitch Christiansen for Roxboro mayor, 74 to 26 percent. In Henderson, James "Pete" O'Geary won 71 percent of the vote to win the mayoral race over Jeanne Hight.