Swearing-in ceremony held for Raleigh mayor

Posted December 1, 2009 1:29 a.m. EST
Updated December 1, 2009 5:39 a.m. EST

— A swearing-in ceremony Monday evening marked the installation of Charles Meeker’s fifth term as Raleigh's mayor.

Meeker and newly-elected members of the City Council took the oath of office at the Raleigh Convention Center.

Bonner Gaylord, who was elected to Philip Isley's District E seat, and John Odom, a former councilman who reclaimed his District B seat by upended Rodger Koopman, make up the new council.

Returning council members include: Mary-Ann Baldwin, Russ Stephenson, Nancy McFarlane, James West and Thomas Crowder.

Meeker was first elected mayor in 2001. The ceremony began Meeker's ninth term as a member of the City Council, having served four terms as a council member, being elected in 1985, 1987, 1991 and 1993.

His five terms as mayor ties him with the late Avery Upchurch as one of Raleigh’s longest serving mayors. Upchurch served the city as mayor from 1983-1993.