Highway wildflowers win awards

Posted December 8, 2008 12:38 p.m. EST

— The N.C. Department of Transportation announced the winners of the 2008 Wildflower Awards at a luncheon held Dec. 3 in Raleigh.

The NCDOT Wildflower Program began in 1985 and is coordinated by the department’s Roadside Environmental Unit, which installs and maintains more than 2,000 acres of wildflowers along North Carolina’s highways.

Transportation Secretary Lyndo Tippett and N.C. Board of Transportation Chairman J. Douglas Galyon presented the awards, sponsored by the Garden Club of North Carolina Inc.

The 2008 award winners are:

  • Best Overall Division Wildflower Program: Transportation Division 4 at I-95 and N.C. 125 in Halifax County.
  • William D. Johnson Daylily Award: Transportation Division 8 – U.S. 220 at McDowell Road (State Road 1150) in Randolph County.
  • Best Regional Wildflower Planting, Western Region: Transportation Division 14 – U.S. 74 at Exit 106 in Clyde in Haywood County
  • Best Regional Wildflower Planting, Central Region: Transportation Division 10 – I-85 at Arrowwood Road (S.R. 1138) in Mecklenburg County.
  • Best Regional Wildflower Planting, Eastern Region: Transportation Division 4 – I-95 at N.C. 125 in Halifax County.