Local leaders inducted into Raleigh Hall of Fame

Posted September 9, 2008 1:15 p.m. EDT
Updated September 24, 2009 11:01 p.m. EDT

— The new Raleigh Convention Center hosted its first formal event Tuesday night with the induction of the 2008 class to the Raleigh Hall of Fame

"We are pleased to honor these very deserving individuals and club for making endless and profound contributions to our community over the years," said L. Merritt Jones, chairman of the Raleigh Hall of Fame board. "Because of their leadership and generous spirits, our community is a stronger and more vibrant place in which to live, learn and do business."

Raleigh Mayor Charles Meeker honored the following residents for their contributions to the community:

  • Landscape architect Dick Bell
  • N.C. State Chancellor John Caldwell
  • Elizabeth Bias Cofield, a former member of the Wake County Board of Commissioners and of the Raleigh Board of Education
  • Museum benefactors Julia and Frank Daniels
  • Philanthropists and restaurateurs Alice and Thad Eure, Jr.
  • Barbara Goodmon, director of the A.J. Fletcher Foundation, and Jim Goodmon, CEO of Capitol Broadcasting Company
  • Historic preservationist Margie Haywood
  • Casper Holroyd, former chairman of the Raleigh School Board and member of the N.C. House of Representatives
  • Arts patron and supporter Ann H. Smith
  • Business leader Wesley Williams
  • The Raleigh Garden Club