Arts Commission awards annual medals

Posted July 25, 2008 11:44 a.m. EDT
Updated August 30, 2008 9:39 a.m. EDT

— The Raleigh Arts Commission named six winners of the annual medal of arts Friday.

The Raleigh Medal of Arts honors individuals and organizations for long-term achievement in and support of local arts. The program is in its 24th year.

Medals will be presented to the winners Tuesday, Oct. 7 at 7 p.m. in Fletcher Opera Theater at the Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts.

The 2008 honorees are:

  • Dr. Lucy Daniels, a writer and clinical psychologist. Daniels' writings chronicle her 30-year struggle with writer's block.
  • Dr. Charles “Chuck” Davis, founder and artistic director of the African American Dance Ensemble
  • Jeffery H. Richardson, band director at Broughton High School
  • Lenard D. Moore, assistant professor of English at Mount Olive College. Moore has written f more than 20 forms of poetry, drama, essays and literary criticism.
  • Susan Newberry, the first full-time director of PineCone, North Carolina's largest, most active traditional music organization
  • Capital Bank, sponsor of Artsplosure, Artspace, Carolina Ballet, Opera Company of North Carolina and Raleigh Little Theatre.