3 N.C. State faculty to be honored

Posted May 7, 2008 11:22 a.m. EDT

— North Carolina State University will award the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence to three faculty members in recognition of their careers at the university.

The Holladay Medal is the highest honor bestowed on a faculty member by the trustees and the university.

Drs. Raymond E. Fornes, professor of physics and associate dean for research in the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences; Nino A. Masnari, Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Troy Nagle, professor of biomedical engineering and electrical and computer engineering, will receive the awards during a Thursday evening ceremony.

The Holladay Medal is named for Col. Alexander Quarles Holladay, the university’s first president. It recognizes the contributions of faculty members in teaching, research and service. Winners receive a medal and a framed certificate, and their names are inscribed on a plaque in the N.C. State Faculty Senate chambers.