Wake County Schools

12 named finalists for Wake teacher of the year

Posted April 19, 2012 1:52 p.m. EDT

— Twelve finalists for the Wake County Public School System's 2012-13 teacher of the year were announced Wednesday evening:

  • Kristél Behrend, Lake Myra Elementary
  • Ellie Bentler, Reedy Creek Elementary
  • Molly Bostic, Heritage High
  • Lauren Brooks, Enloe Magnet High
  • Meher Daruwalla, Fuller Magnet Elementary
  • Wanda Harte, Ballentine Elementary
  • Betsy Lane, Hodge Road Elementary
  • Kristin McCormick, Cary High
  • Brandon Mize, Salem Elementary
  • Helen Pettiford, Sanderson High
  • Charlotte Roberts, Jeffreys Grove Elementary
  • J. Stuart Vickery, Jr., Martin Magnet Middle

Each nominee will be honored at a banquet May 17, when the winner will be announced.

Last year, Stephanie Rhodes, who teaches social studies at Sanderson High School in Raleigh, was named teacher of the year.