Profiles: UNC Board of Governors members

28 voting members of the Board of Governors for the University of North Carolina System are elected by the N.C. General Assembly for four-year terms.

The UNC Board of Governors is the policy-making body charged with “the general determination, control, supervision, management, and governance” of the University of North Carolina system, according to UNC's website.

Its 28 voting members are elected by the General Assembly for four-year terms. They typically meet once a month at the Spangler Center in Chapel Hill or at various UNC system campuses. Former board chairs may continue to serve for limited periods as non-voting members emeriti. The president of the UNC Association of Student Governments or that student’s designee is also a non-voting member.

The Board of Governors has a dual role – maintaining the overall strength of the UNC system and addressing individual campus needs.

The UNC president is chief administrative and executive officer, with authority to manage the affairs and execute the policies of the university system, subject to the direction of the Board of Governors.

The work of the president and Board of Governors is supported by a staff within the UNC General Administration. Each of the 17 campuses is headed by a chancellor, who is chosen by the Board of Governors on the president’s nomination and is responsible to the president.

Click on the individuals below to learn more about each member of the Board of Governors.