New NC moped rules, local tax repeal take effect Wednesday
Posted July 1, 2015 4:05 a.m. EDT
Updated July 1, 2015 5:47 a.m. EDT
RALEIGH, N.C. — The Division of Motor Vehicles now needs to know more about North Carolina's moped owners and will be offering a new standard license plate option beyond the "First in Flight" theme.
Moped registration and a new "First in Freedom" plate are among portions of 25 laws taking effect Wednesday, the start of North Carolina government's fiscal year.
The moped registration legislation is tied to another bill which requires moped drivers to carry liability insurance.
House Bill 148, approved June 23 by lawmakers, requires moped drivers to have minimum liability insurance as defined under state law, which is $30,000 for injury or death of one person, $60,000 for injury or death of two or more people and $25,000 for property damage.
Last year's law requiring moped drivers to register their vehicles with the state Division of Motor Vehicles takes effect Wednesday, and the new insurance requirement takes effect July 1, 2016.
Twenty-one of 32 states that regulate mopeds require their drivers to carry insurance, according to Sen. Tom Apodaca, R-Henderson.
Also on Wednesday, DMV will begin offering the "First in Freedom" plate, which will honor the early demands of North Carolina leaders for American independence in 1775 and 1776.
Starting Wednesday, municipal governments will no longer be able to levy privilege license taxes. Lawmakers approved the repeal last summer.