Local News

Gov. wants disaster-relief funds for Onslow, Jones counties

A declaration of disaster in tornado-damaged areas of Onslow County would also let Jones County residents apply for help with storm recovery.

Posted Updated

ONSLOW COUNTY, N.C. — Gov. Mike Easley requested Friday that tornado-damaged areas of Onslow County be declared disaster areas by the federal Small Business Administration.

Such a declaration for Onslow would also cover Jones County because the counties are contiguous.

easley made a similar request for Bertie County earlier in the week.

The designation would make residents and business owners eligible for low-interest loans to pay for repairs to buildings and property.

Property owners can apply for the loans starting Monday at the Maysville Town Hall, 404 Main St. The governor said those who apply for the loans but are denied will still get monetary assistance from the state.

A survey earlier in the week found that 26 uninsured properties in Onslow County were damaged in the storms.

In Bertie County, 30 uninsured homes had major damage.

Twelve people were injured in Bertie and Onslow counties during the storms, which spawned as many as 16 tornadoes in the eastern part of the state on Sunday.

1 / 3

Copyright 2022 by Capitol Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.