Local Politics

Fayetteville voters oust two council members

Posted November 5, 2019 11:00 p.m. EST

— Voters elected two first-time candidates to the Fayetteville City Council on Tuesday.

Courtney Banks-McLaughlin easily topped Councilman Ted Mohn 57 to 42 percent in District 8, which represents the western side of Fayetteville and abuts Fort Bragg, according to unofficial results.

Meanwhile, Yvonne Kinston topped Councilman Jim Arp 53 to 47 percent in District 9, which represents the south-central part of the city.

With victories by Shakeyla Ingram and Chris Davis for two open seats, four of the nine City Council members will be new next year. Ingram won District 2, which represents southeast Fayetteville, while Davis won District 6 in southwest Fayetteville.

Mayor Mitch Colvin and the other five members of City Council all ran unopposed.

Our commenting policy has changed. If you would like to comment, please share on social media using the icons below and comment there.