Out & About

Out & About

N.C. Museum of Natural Sciences

Categories: Arts, Attractions, Community, Free, Lifestyle
11 West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Hours: Mon–Sat: 9 am–5 pm, Sun: 12 pm–5 pm
(919) 707-9800
Visit Their Website

Rating: 1  2  3  4  5  
Not Yet Rated

to add your rating


Welcome to an extraordinary resource! North Carolina’s most visited museum with one of the State’s most iconic landmarks—the SECU Daily Planet. The NC Museum of Natural Sciences is the largest institution of its kind in the South East and one of the nation’s most amazing museums about the natural world. This Museum asks four basic questions about the natural sciences—what do we know?, how do we know?, what’s happening now?, how can you participate?—with an integrated suite of onsite, offsite, online and outdoor experiences.

The NC Museum of Natural Sciences is a high-performing nexus of research, collections, living collections, exhibitions and digital media, school and lifelong education, community engagement, and a regional network—each fueled by great expertise and a diversifying portfolio of public, earned and contributed funds. Progress is forged by maximizing the dividends on a remarkable history of public and private sector investments with a growing array of partnerships.

Our high standards are reflected by our affiliation with the Smithsonian Institution; accreditation by the American Alliance of Museums; a National Medal at the White House in 2014 from the federal Institute of Museum and Library Services which recognizes just five of the nation’s 35,000 museums annually for outstanding community service; national model research partnerships with the University of North Carolina System; this year’s Thad Eure, Jr. Award from the Greater Raleigh Convention and Visitors Bureau for our economic impact through attracting conferences; and field-advancing innovations such as a fully accessible and free mobile app (NC NatSci) for visitors to navigate our exhibitions.

Is this your business? Update your free WRAL Out & About business profile by emailing us your logo or a picture of your business now.

Map

Upcoming Events

Exquisite Creatures: The Art of Christopher Marley
Thu, Jan 27 thru Sun, Jan 30 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Feb 1 thru Sun, Feb 6 at 10am-5pm
Sun, Feb 13 at 10am-5pm
Sun, Feb 20 at 10am-5pm
Sun, Feb 27 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Feb 8 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Feb 15 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Feb 22 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Feb 9 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Feb 16 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Feb 23 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Feb 10 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Feb 17 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Feb 24 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Feb 11 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Feb 18 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Feb 25 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Feb 12 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Feb 19 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Feb 26 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Mar 1 thru Sun, Mar 6 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Mar 8 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Mar 9 at 10am-5pm
Sun, Mar 13 at 10am-5pm
Sun, Mar 20 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Mar 15 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Mar 10 thru Sat, Mar 12 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Mar 16 thru Sat, Mar 19 at 10am-5pm

Astronomy Days: This Year We Space Out!
Sat, Jan 29 at 11am-6pm
Sun, Jan 30 at 12pm-5:30pm
Thu, Jan 27 at 10am-7pm
Fri, Jan 28 at 10am-7pm

FRIDAY FORECAST
48°/ 28°

WRAL & Yelp Reviews

user image
Mati I. Jan 14, 2022
rating
yelp logo
Great place to explore and chill! The Cade is okay. I've had burgers and fries. The souvenir shops have a lot of variety and at every price range.
user image
Jenna W. Dec 4, 2021
rating
yelp logo
Great exhibitions! Very kind and helpful staff! It's a great place to visit and definitely worth the visit!
user image
Rebecca M. Feb 14, 2021
rating
yelp logo
The NC Museum of Natural Science is not implementing the COVID procedures well. They did away with the timed entry and now just let 30 people inside at a... (more)

Please to add a review.

Event Data Provided by Eventful