Opinion

Opinion

Editorial: Stop election cheating! Tell key legislators to uphold Cooper's veto

Posted July 29, 2018 9:39 p.m. EDT
Updated July 31, 2018 12:35 a.m. EDT

Monday, July 30, 2018 -- Capitol Broadcasting's editorial cartoonist.

CBC Editorial: UPDATED Tuesday, July 31, 2018; Editorial #8328
The following is the opinion of Capitol Broadcasting Company


There are fewer than 100 days until Election Day 2018.

On Saturday, when legislators are currently scheduled to meet to try to override Gov. Roy Cooper’s veto of two abysmal pieces of legislation seeking to change state election laws in mid-campaign -- that never should have been considered in the first place – there will be hyper focus on the votes they cast.

The unrelenting efforts, in the midst of the campaign, to shift and change wording and candidate identification on ballots has done little more than generate confusion among voters. Senate leader Phil Berger and House Speaker Tim Moore are disingenuous at best when they contend they "will override these vetoes to deliver clear and consistent voter information on ballots this November.”

They are doing just the opposite.

Some of the most partisan legislators now find themselves seeking re-election in highly competitive districts – yes there are a handful despite the massive gerrymandering imposed by the Republican leadership -- suddenly see the wisdom of the other side of the aisle. Why? Because they know what they do could become part of critical campaign talking points and attack ads.

Based on past behavior and rhetoric, that could be the ONLY reason why Republican state senators Trudy Wade of Guilford County and Wesley Meredith of Cumberland County finally did the right thing and opposed both bills making mid-campaign adjustments in state elections laws (Joel Ford of Mecklenburg County who lost his primary, was the lone Democrat to vote with the Republican majority.)

The two are in hotly contested districts. Other senators in competitive races – Jeff Tarte from Mecklenburg County and Tom McInnis didn’t record votes – having “excused” absences.

When legislators must decide on whether to override the veto on these two bills every member of the General Assembly should be on record. This is their job. Short of matters of life-and-death this is what they got elected to do and failure to do it is a dereliction of duty.

The right thing to do is to vote to uphold the governor’s veto and uphold the rule of law.

The right thing to do is to say no to totalitarian-style tactics that constantly shift election rules in the midst of a campaign to benefit those in power.

It doesn’t take a high-paid political consultant to know where to find the votes to sustain Cooper’s veto. It is among Republican legislators in competitive districts; Republicans representing Democratic-leaning districts and Republicans who aren’t seeking re-election and, thus should have little concern about any “retribution” from the leadership for failing to tow the party line.

Below is a list of Republicans seeking re-election in districts rated “competitive” by the North Carolina Free Enterprise Foundation, an organization that seeks to provide “non-partisan political research, and objective analysis to foster informed civic involvement.” Also listed are Republican legislators running in districts that were carried by Democratic presidential candidate Hillary Clinton – as identified by NC FREE. Also, there is a list, compiled by legislative staffers, of Republican legislators who aren’t seeking re-election.

The list includes e-mail links and telephone numbers for these legislators.

Do not delay. E-mail them. Call their offices. Tell them enough is enough. Tell them you’re watching to make sure they do their duty and vote. And that vote must be to sustain the governor’s veto of these two bad laws.

Why? Because it is past time to stand up for:

  • The rule of law.
  • For fair elections.
  • For laws that encourage voter participation, not target minorities to keep them from the polls.

The election is fewer than 100 days away and voters’ will remember this vote.


REPUBLICAN N.C. HOUSE INCUMBENTS IN “COMPETITIVE” RE-ELECTION RACES

Dist. 22 (Bladen, Johnson & Sampson counties): William Brisson -- 919-733-5772 William.Brisson@ncleg.net
Dist. 35 (Wake County): Chris Malone -- 919-715-3010; Chris.Malone@ncleg.net
Dist. 36 (Wake County): Nelson Dollar -- 919-715-0795; Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net
Dist.46 (Bladen, Columbus & Robeson counties): Brenden Jones -- 919-733-5821; Brenden.Jones@ncleg.net
Dist. 51 (Harnett & Lee counties) : John Sauls -- 919-715-3026; John.Sauls@ncleg.net
Dist. 63 (Alamance County): Stephen Ross -- 919-733-5820; Stephen.Ross@ncleg.net
Dist 119 (Haywood, Jackson & Swain counties): Mike Clampitt -- 919-715-3005; Mike.Clampitt@ncleg.net

REPUBLICAN N.C. SENATE INCUMBENTS IN “COMPETITIVE” RE-ELECTION RACES

Dist. 7 (Lenoir, Pitt & Wayne counties): Louis Pate -- 919-733-5621; Louis.Pate@ncleg.net
Dist. 9 (New Hanover County): Michael Lee -- 919-715-2525; Michael.Lee@ncleg.net
Dist. 13 (Columbus & Robeson counties): Danny Britt -- 919-733-5651; Danny.Britt@ncleg.net
Dist. 19 (Cumberland County): Wesley Meredith -- 919-733-5776; Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net
Dist. 25 (Anson, Richmond, Rowan, Scotland & Stanly counties): Tom McInnis -- 919-733-5953; Tom McInnis@ncleg.net
Dist. 41 (Mecklenburg County) : Jeff Tarte -- 919-715-3050; Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net


REPUBLICANS IN THE N.C. HOUSE WHO REPRESENT DISTRICTS CARRIED BY HILLARY CLINTON IN 2016

Dist. 104 (Mecklenburg County): Andy Dulin -- 919-715-3009; Andy.Dulin@ncleg.net
Dist. 105 (Mecklenburg County) : Scott Stone -- 919-733-5886; Scott.Stone@ncleg.net

REPUBLICANS IN THE N.C. SENATE WHO REPRESENT DISTRICTS CARRIED BY HILLARY CLINTON IN 2016
(Not already in competitive districts)

Dist. 27 (Guilford County): Trudy Wade -- 919-733-5856; Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net


REPUBLICANS IN THE N.C. HOUSE NOT RUNNING FOR RE-ELECTION AND NOT RUNNING FOR ANOTHER OFFICE

Dist. 6 (Beaufort, Dare, Hyde & Washington counties); Beverly Boswell -- 919.733.5906; Beverly Boswell@ncleg.net
Dist. 8 (Pitt & Wilson counties): Susan Martin -- 919-715-3023; Susan.Martin@ncleg.net
Dist. 16 (Onslow & Pender counties): Bob Muller - 919-715-9664; Bob.Martin@ncleg.net
Dist. 25 (Franklin & Nash counties): Jeff Collins -- 919-733-5802; Jeff.Collins@ncleg.net
Dist. 37 (Wake County): Linda Hunt Williams -- 919-733-2962; Linda.Williams@neleg.net
Dist. 62 (Guilford County): John Blust -- 919.733-5781; John.Blust@ncleg.net
Dist. 65 (Caswell & Rockingham counties): Bert Jones -- 919-733-5779; Bert.Jones@ncleg.net
Dist. 67 (Montgomery & Stanly counties): Justin Burr -- 919-733-5908; Justin.Burr@ncleg.net

REPUBLICANS IN THE N.C. SENATE NOT RUNNING FOR RE-ELECTION AND NOT RUNNING FOR ANOTHER OFFICE

Dist. 1 (Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank & Perquimans counties): Bill Cook 919-715-8293; Bill.Cook@ncleg.net
Dist. 12 (Harnett, Johnston & Lee counties): Ronald Rabin -- 919-733-5748; Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net
Dist. 18 (Franklin & Wake counties): Chad Barefoot -- 919-715-3036; Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net
Dist. 33 (Davidson & Montgomery counties): Cathy Dunn -- 919-733-5665; Cathy.Dunn@neleg.net
Dist. 45 (Stokes, Surry & Wilkes counties): Shirley Randleman -- 919-733-5743; Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net

Capitol Broadcasting Company's Opinion Section seeks a broad range of comments and letters to the editor. Our Comments beside each opinion column offer the opportunity to engage in a dialogue about this article.

In addition, we invite you to write a letter to the editor about this or any other opinion articles. Here are some tips on submissions >> SUBMIT A LETTER TO THE EDITOR