Edgecombe principal, 7 others competing for NC Principal of the Year

Posted February 18, 2019 12:02 p.m. EST
Updated February 18, 2019 2:38 p.m. EST

— Eight public school principals have been selected as regional Wells Fargo North Carolina Principals of the Year and will compete for the state title. The winner will be announced May 10 and will succeed the 2018 recipient, Tabari Wallace, principal of West Craven High in Craven County Schools.

The regional principals of the year are:

  • Northeast: Melissa Fields, Perquimans Central (Perquimans County Schools)
  • Southeast: Elizabeth P. Pierce, Frink Middle (Lenoir County Schools)
  • North Central: Matthew Bristow-Smith, Edgecombe Early College High (Edgecombe County Public Schools)
  • Sandhills: James “Bo” Mullins, Clement Elementary (Sampson County Schools)
  • Piedmont-Triad: Sean Gaillard, Lexington Middle (Lexington City Schools)
  • Southwest: Dr. Timisha Barnes-Jones, West Charlotte High (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools)
  • Northwest: Michelle Baker, Eastfield Global Magnet (McDowell County Schools)
  • Western: Brandon Sutton, Swain Middle (Swain County Schools).

The Principal of the Year Award was introduced in 1984.

The state recently announced that nine teachers from across North Carolina have been selected as the state’s regional Teachers of the Year.