Local News

Counties, cities swear in new leaders across Triangle

Posted December 2, 2013 3:04 p.m. EST
Updated December 3, 2013 12:28 p.m. EST

— The Wake County Board of Commissioners on Monday elected Republicans Phil Matthews and Tony Gurley as chairman and vice chairman, respectively.

The moves come as elected officials across the Triangle were sworn in to new terms in office.

Raleigh Mayor Nancy McFarlane began her second two-year term, and all seven City Council members were sworn in before their Monday evening meeting.

Durham Mayor Bill Bell took the oath of office for the seventh time, while Fayetteville Mayor Nat Robertson began his first term after his election last month.

Matthews, who served as vice chairman last year, succeeds Commissioner Joe Bryan as chairman. Gurley has served as vice chairman once before and as chairman three times.

"The Board of Commissioners has made tremendous strides towards its goals in 2013, thanks in large part to the leadership of Joe Bryan,” Matthews said in a statement. “There is much more to do. I look forward to working with all of the county commissioners to set goals for 2014 and spending more time on our focus areas of education, the economy and job investments and public safety."

Meanwhile, Michael Page was elected chairman of the Durham County Board of Commissioners, and Barry Jacobs was named chairman of the Orange County Board of Commissioners.

Page also served as chairman in 2008 and 2012, while Jacobs previously headed the Orange County board in 2002, 2004, 2008 and 2012.