Council of State races outlined

Tuesday's results include a 2012 rematch for the lieutenant governor and dueling incumbent senators for attorney general.

Posted Updated
Election/Decision 2016 graphic
Laura Leslie
RALEIGH, N.C. — The races for the seats on North Carolina's Council of State include quite a few familiar names and faces.

In the Democratic contest for lieutenant governor, returning 2012 Democratic candidate Linda Coleman won more than half the votes cast, easily defeating challengers Holly Jones, Robert Wilson and Ron Newton. Coleman wins a rematch against Republican Lt. Gov. Dan Forest, who faced no primary challenger.

State Sen. Buck Newton, R-Wilson, defeated Forsyth County District Attorney Jim O'Neill to win the Republican nomination for attorney general. He'll face fellow state Sen. Josh Stein, D-Wake, who defeated Lumberton attorney Marcus Williams for the Democratic nomination.

The 2012 Republican candidate for insurance commissioner Mike Causey once again won his party's nomination. He'll face a rematch against Democratic incumbent Wayne Goodwin.

Former Raleigh Mayor Charles Meeker won his party's nomination for labor commissioner, defeating Mazie Ferguson. He faces incumbent Republican Cherie Berry, who did not have a primary challenger.

Superintendent of Public Instruction June Atkinson held off a primary challenge from Democrat Henry Pankey and will face Republican Mark Johnson in November.

Michael LaPaglia won the Republican nomination for secretary of state, defeating longtime candidate A.J. Daoud. LaPaglia will challenge incumbent Democrat Elaine Marshall in the fall.

In the Democratic race for state treasurer, Dan Blue III defeated Ron Elmer for the nomination. Blue will go up against former Division of Employment Security chief Dale Folwell, who had no primary challenge for the GOP nomination.


Copyright 2023 by Capitol Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.