Local News

Commissioners in Wake, Durham elect leaders

Posted December 1, 2008 10:43 a.m. EST
Updated December 1, 2008 4:37 p.m. EST

— Commissioner Harold Webb was elected chairman of the Wake County Board of Commissioners at a Monday afternoon meeting.

Webb won a runoff against Commissioner Joe Bryan, who previously served as chairman. Commissioner Lindy Brown was the third candidate nominated for the post.

Brown was then elected vice chairwoman of the board.

Webb and fellow commissioners Betty Lou Ward and Stan Norwalk were sworn in at the meeting.

Earlier Monday, Commissioner Michael Page was elected chairman of the Durham County Board of Commissioners.

Commissioner Ellen Reckhow, who previously served as chairwoman, was elected vice chairwoman.

Commissioners Becky Heron, Joe Bowser and Brenda Howerton also were sworn in at the meeting.

Meanwhile, three new Cumberland County commissioners have yet to take office due to an ongoing election dispute.

The county Republican Party filed an appeal with the State Board of Elections Monday, disputing at least 5,000 early ballots. County elections officials have dismissed the complaint.