City of Raleigh names employee of the year

Posted May 23, 2013 3:14 p.m. EDT
Updated May 29, 2013 3:58 p.m. EDT

— Raleigh officials announced Thursday that John Sams, who works with the Raleigh Television Network, has been named the city's 2012 Employee of the Year.

Since starting in 2000, Sams "has consistently demonstrated his commitment to his job, knowledge of his craft and exhibited tremendous professionalism," according to Raleigh's news release.

“I can think of no other employee more deserving of this award,” public affairs director Jayne Kirkpatrick said in a statement. “It is our pleasure to work with him and look forward to many more years of doing so.”

Sams’ background in commercial television news production "show through in the overall quality of every project he produces for the city," city officials said. "More importantly for his co-workers, his positive attitude makes working with him a pleasure."

“It’s wonderful to have a co-worker as cheerful and dedicated as John is,” Raleigh Television Network production manager Karyn Thomas said in a statement. “He is a positive influence on his peers and always encourages us. People often comment on how well we work together and relate to one another. John is a big part of that and helps foster that.”

“A lot of departments need in-house videos for training purposes,” Thomas added. “John is always happy to provide assistance.”

Thomas said she remembered an incident where a city employee needed to document an event and was experiencing some difficulty with the video equipment. Sams helped her with the equipment and then volunteered to go with her to set up the equipment, even though his workday had officially ended. He even gave the employee his cellphone number in case she needed additional help.

“He enjoys his work,” Thomas said. “He’s enthusiastic and is always the consummate professional. I think he’s a terrific ambassador for the city and our department. We are all thrilled for him and the recognition he is receiving.”

Nine city employees were named departmental Employees of the Year. Each received a plaque and a check for $250. For his award as citywide Employee of the Year, Sams received an additional plaque and a $500 award.

The departmental Employees of the Year were:

  • Neil Harrison, finance department;
  • Frank McLaurin, fire department;
  • Tammy Reed, parks and recreation;
  • Joe Whitney, planning department;
  • Omar Abdullah, police department;
  • Betty Johnson, public utilities;
  • Walter Colvin, public works department
  • Jimmy Council, solid waste services