9 NC educators selected as regional Teachers of the Year

Posted January 24, 2020 2:52 p.m. EST
Updated January 24, 2020 2:54 p.m. EST

Nine teachers from across North Carolina have been selected as this year's regional Teachers of the Year. They will compete for the title of 2020 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year.

The winner succeeds the 2019 Teacher of the Year, Mariah Morris, a second-grade teacher at West Pine Elementary School in Pinehurst in Moore County Schools.

The 2020 North Carolina Regional Teachers of the Year are:

  • West: Dawn Gilchrist, School of Alternatives (Jackson County Public Schools)
  • Northwest: Maggie Murphy, Piney Creek School (Alleghany County Schools)
  • Southwest: Chad Beam, Burns High School (Cleveland County Schools)
  • Piedmont Triad: Tonya Smith, Elkin High School (Elkin City Schools)
  • Sandhills: Maureen Stover, Cumberland International Early College High School, (Cumberland County Schools)
  • North Central: Carol Forrest, Long Mill Elementary (Franklin County Schools)
  • Northeast: Jeanette Owens, Ocracoke School (Hyde County Schools)
  • Southeast: Daniel Scott, Swansboro High School (Onslow County Schools)
  • Charter schools: Ashley Bailey, Roxboro Community School, Roxboro

The 2020 North Carolina Teacher of the Year will be announced April 3 at an awards ceremony in Cary. Since 2013, the N.C. Department of Public Instruction has partnered with the Burroughs Wellcome Fund to honor North Carolina teachers. The state has recognized outstanding teachers through its Teacher of the Year program since 1970.

The mission of the North Carolina Teacher of the Year Program is to promote the profession through advocacy and support while recognizing outstanding teaching professionals who are implementing best practices in classrooms across North Carolina.

Our commenting policy has changed. If you would like to comment, please share on social media using the icons below and comment there.