Local News

9 Educators Vie for N.C. Teacher of the Year

Posted February 1, 2008 10:54 a.m. EST

— Nine teachers were recently selected to represent their regions and charter schools as regional Teachers of the Year. They will compete for the title of 2008-09 North Carolina Teacher of the Year.

The winner will succeed the 2007-08 Teacher of the Year, James Bell, an eighth grade English teacher at Chowan Middle School, Edenton-Chowan Public Schools.

The regional teachers of the year are:

  • Paige Elliott, Fuquay-Varina High, Wake County Schools, North Central region
  • Sonya Rinehart, John Holmes High, Edenton-Chowan Public Schools, Northeast region
  • Janice Raper, Hurley Elementary, Rowan-Salisbury Schools, Northwest region
  • Ruth Parker, Clinton High, Clinton City Schools, Southeast region
  • Bernard Waugh, Kannapolis Intermediate, Kannapolis City Schools, Southwest region
  • Trisha Muse, Page Street Elementary, Montgomery County Schools, Sandhills/South Central region
  • Cindi Rigsbee, Gravelly Hill Middle, Orange County Schools, Piedmont-Triad/Central region
  • Renee Peoples, West Elementary, Swain County Schools, West region
  • Freida Baker, East Wake Academy, Wake County, Charter Schools

Each of the regional teachers of the year will receive a one-time stipend of $5,000 and a trip to a national conference. They also will serve on the 2008-09 Teacher of the Year team.

The 2008-09 Teacher of the Year will be announced April 29 at a dinner and awards ceremony.

North Carolina has recognized outstanding teachers through its Teacher of the Year program since 1970. This is the first year that a teacher has been selected to represent charter schools.