5 On Your Side

IRS extends tax deadlines for hurricane victims

Posted September 1, 2011 10:58 a.m. EDT
Updated September 1, 2011 10:59 a.m. EDT

The Internal Revenue Service will extend some payment deadlines for residents of North Carolina counties impacted by Hurricane Irene. 

As of Thursday, seven counties had been declared federal disaster areas: Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dare, Hyde, Pamlico and Tyrrell. Residents and property owners there are eligible for relief.

For instance, tax payments due between Aug. 25 and Oct. 30, can now be paid by Oct. 31 without late penalties. This includes corporations and other businesses that previously obtained an extension until Sept. 15 to file their 2010 returns, and individuals and businesses that received a similar extension until Oct. 17. It also includes the estimated tax payment for the third quarter, normally due Sept. 15.

Those who live outside the designated counties can call the IRS disaster hot line at 1-866-562-5227 to request a similar extension.