NC Capitol

NC Capitol

5 NC congressmen refusing to acknowledge Biden's Electoral College victory

Posted January 4, 2021 7:11 p.m. EST
Updated January 5, 2021 11:18 a.m. EST

— At least five Republican North Carolina congressmen will refuse to go along with the U.S. House on Wednesday in certifying the Electoral College results that have Democrat Joe Biden winning the presidency.

Madison Cawthorn, who was elected in November to represent the 11th Congressional District in the southwestern part of the state, and 13th District Congressman Ted Budd previously announced they would object to the certification vote.

Eighth District Congressman Richard Hudson released a statement Sunday saying he would also object, and 7th District Congressman David Rouzer joined the list on Monday.

“When there are widespread and grave concerns, I do not believe our Founders intended Congress to be an automatic rubber stamp of approval of a state’s votes," Rouzer said in a statement. "Election integrity is a foundational matter that needs to be ensured."

There is no proof of any election fraud in any state that would have changed the outcome of the race, former U.S. Attorney General Bill Barr told Congress last month. But President Donald Trump continues to argue that he won the election.

Third District Congressman Greg Murphy said Tuesday that he also plans to object, citing the influence of courts and others in the election process this year.

"Whether objecting would change the outcome is not the question that must be addressed. It is, rather, did certain states follow their constitutional duties in how they chose electors? I believe the answer is no," Murphy said in a statement. "Unless we solve this problem now by objecting and calling into question the irregularities in the process this year, it will call into question the integrity of every election this nation faces moving forward."

Fifth District Congresswoman Virginia Foxx, 9th District Congressman Dan Bishop and 10th District Congressman Patrick Mchenry didn't respond Monday to requests for comment on the certification issue.

So far, the only Republican from North Carolina who says he will vote to uphold the election results is U.S. Sen. Richard Burr.

U.S. Sen. Thom Tillis hasn't yet taken a public position on the issue.

The House and the Senate will meet in joint session at the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday afternoon to take up the certification. Because the process requires only a simple majority of each chamber, it's expected to occur despite the objections.

Our commenting policy has changed. If you would like to comment, please share on social media using the icons below and comment there.