Wake County Schools

Recent snow makes Saturday a school for some

Posted February 8

Nathan and Melanie Ritchie enjoying their snow day in Wake County! - Submitted by Carrie Ritchie

— Saturday is the first of four make-up days for the recent snowstorm where some Wake County students who attend year-round school will begin their weekend in the classroom.

Bus pick-up times will follow the regular weekday schedule, and the instructional day will be 3.5 hours. Breakfast and lunch will not be served, but students may bring snacks to school. There will be no recess or clubs. All time will be used on core instruction.

The Wake County Public School System was among many that closed Jan. 28-31 after about four inches of snow coated the eastern half of the state.

With a variety of school-calendar option, Wake's make-up days are spread out through the rest of the spring as follows:

Make-up days for Tuesday, Jan. 28:

  • Traditional and modified-calendar schools: Monday, Feb. 17
  • Leadership academies/early colleges: Thursday, May 29
  • Multi-track year-round (Tracks 1, 2, and 4*): Saturday, Feb. 8 (revised from Saturday, Feb. 1)
  • Single-track year-round schools: Saturday, Feb. 8 (revised from Saturday, Feb. 1)

*There will be no make-up day for Track 3 students, who were not in session on Jan, 28.

Make-up days for Wednesday, Jan. 29:

  • Traditional calendar schools: Monday, April 21
  • Modified calendar schools: Monday, March 10
  • Leadership academies/ early colleges: Friday, May 30 
  • Year-round schools (Tracks 1, 2, and 4*): Saturday, Feb. 15 (revised from Saturday, May 31)

*There will be no make-up day for Track 3 students, who were not in session on Jan. 29.

Make-up days for Thursday, Jan. 30:

  • Traditional calendar schools: Friday, March 28
  • Modified calendar Schools: Tuesday, March 11
  • Leadership academies/ early colleges: Monday, Feb. 17
  • All year-round schools (Tracks 1, 2, and 4*): Saturday, April 26

*There will be no make-up day for Track 3 students, who were not in session on Jan. 30.

Make-up days for Friday, Jan. 31:

  • Traditional calendar schools: Wednesday, June 11
  • Modified calendar schools: Monday, April 21
  • STEM early colleges/leadership academies: Monday, April 21
  • All year-round schools (Tracks 1, 2, and 4*): Saturday, May 3

*There will be no make-up day for Track 3 students, who were not in session on Jan. 31.

1 Comment

This story is closed for comments. Comments on WRAL.com news stories are accepted and moderated between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Oldest First
View all
  • Honesty first Feb 10, 10:43 a.m.

    So If you are year round school you only make up half the time missed.

    I think the title should say "makes Saturday a school "day"" for some