Saint Aug's forms first faculty senate

Posted December 10, 2014

— For the first time in its 147-year history, Saint Augustine’s University has established a faculty senate, the university announced Wednesday.

The organization includes professors from each school who represent faculty members in a process of shared governance. The senate also gives advice to the school’s president.

“The purpose of the senate is to seek ways to improve communication and collaborative decisions made across the university,” the school said in a news release.

The four-year, historically black college in Raleigh has been working to boost enrollment and revenue following the removal in April of its previous president. School leaders are also awaiting the results of a federal investigation into allegations that the university provided false information on a grant proposal.

The Faculty Senate officers are Warren Dukes, chair; professor Richard Moore, vice chair; professor Marjorie Newman, secretary; and professor George Jack, parliamentarian.

The Faculty Senate members include: School of Liberal Arts and Education - professors Alissa McElreath, Marjorie Newman and George Jack; School of Social and Behavioral Sciences - Warren Dukes and professors Richard Moore and Christopher Solomon; School of Allied Health and Medical Sciences - professors Renee Swain and Katrina Williams; School of Business and Technology - professor Harmon Barnard and Anthony Grady; School of Science, Mathematics and Engineering - professor William Nowell.


This story is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all