Go Ask Mom

Go Ask Mom

Quail Ridge schedules 'Save Rafe!' party this week

Posted July 30, 2014

Longtime owner Nancy Olson plans to sell her popular independent Raleigh bookstore, Quail Ridge Books & Music, and retire.

Fans of James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts' Middle School series will want to head over to Quail Ridge Books & Music on Friday for an event celebrating the latest installment.

The "Save Rafe!" party is set for 7 p.m., Friday, at the store on Wade Avenue in Raleigh. The latest book - called "Save Rafe" - continues the story of troublemaker Rafe Khatchadorian as he tries to navigate middle school.

Quail Ridge will have food and surprises. This is not an author event, but a party to celebrate the book. This is best for ages 8 and up.

Some other events for kids and teens at Quail Ridge this month, with descriptions from the store: 

  • Wednesday, Aug. 13, 7 p.m. - Launch party for Emperor Pickletine: Do you love the Origami Yoda books? Well, we do, too. Come in for a 'launch' party to celebrate the publication of Emperor Pickletine Rides the Bus. In the final Origami Yoda case file from the kids at McQuarrie Middle School, the gang prepares for a well-earned day of fun and adventure in Washington, DC . . . but of course it won't be that easy! The sweetest, stookiest, craziest Origami Yoda case file yet. Games, treats and surprises. (Note: this is not an author event - at least, not an 'in person' one.) Ages 9 and up.
  • Sunday, Aug. 17, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. - Teen Author Summer Slam: A panel of contemporary authors for teens will share their work. Join us for snacks, giveaways and book signings. 
  • Monday, Aug. 25, 7 p.m. - Jon Scieszka: Things are never boring when Jon Scieszka is around! He's brought us the wild humor of reinvented fairy tales (The Stinky Cheese Man; The True Story of the Three Little Pigs), the silliness of his Trucktown books for young readers, and the history adventures of the Time Warp Trio. Now this former National Ambassador for Young People's Literature tackles science in a new series, beginning with Frank Einstein and the Antimatter Motor. For ages 8 and up.

Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all