Local News

Performers and presenters announced for International Bluegrass Music Awards

Posted September 6, 2014

Bluegrass fans crowded the NC Museum of Natural Sciences in Raleigh for a viewing party for the IBMA Awards nominations on Aug. 13, 2014.

Performers and presenters for the International Bluegrass Music Association's 25th International Bluegrass Music Awards were announced Thursday.

The IBMA Awards will be held Thursday, Oct. 2 at Raleigh's Memorial Auditorium. It will be hosted by Grammy award winners country vocalist Lee Ann Womack and musician Jerry Douglas.

Performers include all five 2014 Entertainer of the Year nominees:

  • Balsam Range
  • Blue Highway
  • Dailey & Vincent
  • The Gibson Brothers
  • The Del McCoury Band

Also scheduled to perform is Female Vocalist/Song of the Year nominee Claire Lynch, Instrumental Group of the Year nominee Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen, last year’s Emerging Artist recipient Della Mae, and The Boxcars.

Members of the original Seldom Scene - Ben Eldridge, Tom Gray and John Starling - will be part of a special Seldom Scene performance celebrating their induction into the Hall of Fame. Emerging Artist of the Year nominee The Spinney Brothers will give tribute to this year’s other Hall of Fame inductee, bluegrass historian Neil Rosenberg.

Tony Trischka, Dale Ann Bradley, Jens Kruger, Bela Fleck, Noam Pikelny, Doyle Lawson, Jason Carter, Kimber Ludiker, Missy Raines, Ben Surratt, Joe Mullins, Junior Sisk and Sierra Hull have been announced as presenters.

The awards ceremony is part of the IBMA World of Bluegrass event, which offers free and ticketed events Sept. 30 - Oct. 4 in downtown Raleigh.

Highlights of the event include:

  • IBMA Business Conference Sept. 30 - Oct. 2
  • IBMA Awards Oct. 2
  • Wide Open Bluegrass Oct. 3-4 (which includes free events and ticketed performances)
  • Bluegrass Ramble, an innovative series of showcases, Sept. 30-Oct. 2

Tickets for all of the IBMA events in Raleigh are on sale through the association's website.


This story is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all