Safe Seats

Posted May 8, 2012

With two hours remaining till the polls close, here's a look at some legislative races that voters in the WRAL viewing area won't have any say in.

In each of these cases, the candidate has no primary challenger from his or her own party, and no challenger from the opposing party in November's general election.  So for all intents and purposes, they've already won their seats before a single vote was cast. 

Wake County:

  • House 11: Democrat Duane Hall (this is a new seat created by redistricting)
  • House 34: Democrat Deborah Ross 
  • Senate 14: Democrat Dan Blue
  • Senate 16: Democrat Josh Stein

Durham County:

  • House 29: Democrat Larry Hall
  • House 30: Democrat Paul Luebke
  • House 31: Democrat Mickey Michaux

Johnston County:

  • House 28: Republican James Langdon

Wayne/Greene/Lenoir Counties

  • Senate 5: Democrat Don Davis (his primary challenger was ruled ineligible)
  • Senate 7: Republican Louis Pate

Onslow County:

  • House 15: Republican George Cleveland 
  • House 16: Republican Phil Shepard
  • Senate 6: Republican Harry Brown

Hoke/Robeson Counties

  • House 47: Democrat Charles Graham
  • House 48: Democrat Garland Pierce
  • House 66: Democrat Ken Goodman

Sampson/Duplin Counties:

  • House 21: Democrat Larry Bell

Pitt/Wilson Counties

  • House 24: Democrat Jean Farmer-Butterfield

Moore County:

  • House 52: Republican Jamie Boles

This blog post is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all