Local News

Eve Carson's photo appears on questionable Web site

Posted September 23, 2008
Updated September 24, 2008

— University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill students say they are appalled to find out that a photo of the school's slain student body president is being used on a Web site that promises, for a fee, to help college students earn money.

The site, College Student Jobs (www.jobscollegestudents.org), lists Eve Carson, the late actor/comedian John Belushi and several other unidentified people as "recently registered students" who can earn up to $3,500 a month by taking online surveys.

The company also goes by the names Cyber Junky Inc., DataEntryMadeEasy, Keystrokes 4 Cash, PaidSurveysEtc.com, Type at Home and Type-at-home.com, according to the Better Business Bureau.

"It's just tasteless," UNC senior Amanda Morgan said. "I think that's my first reaction."

Carson, 22, was found shot to death on the morning of March 5 in a residential neighborhood several blocks from the UNC campus. Two men face several charges in her death, including first-degree murder and kidnapping.

Rhonda Caufield said she was recently looking on the Internet for job ideas to give to her son, a freshman at East Carolina University, when she stumbled upon the site.

"It was the same picture that we'd seen for the last few months, and I said, 'Something just doesn't feel right about this.'"

It's unclear if the Web site, traced to Synergy Investments in southern California, posted the photo, if a user posted it or if Carson posted it before her death.

A phone number listed for the company is disconnected, and the Better Business Bureau gives Synergy an unsatisfactory rating for unanswered complaints and advertising claims.

A UNC spokeswoman declined to comment on the site Tuesday afternoon.

With Carson's death still fresh, Caufield and many on the UNC campus hope Carson's image will never be misused.

"That's just not how you want Eve to be remembered," Morgan said.


This story is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all
  • Dr. Dataclerk Sep 24, 2008

    What some people want do for money.

  • OneWarnin Sep 24, 2008

    It would be fun to find out who owns (really owns) this company and mount a call in campaign to block their phones. Also call the newspapers and radio stations in the area where they are headquartered and let them know what a bunch of Bozos these guys are.

  • jmflu Sep 24, 2008

    Makes one wonder if ALL those people are deceased...

  • Myword Sep 23, 2008

    The site's gotta be some scam.

  • luvdogs Sep 23, 2008

    The fact that John Belushi is listed as recently having signed up tends to make me think the company isn't very well monitored or worse...

  • kbo0801 Sep 23, 2008

    Since UNC is looking into this, what exactly are they looking for? This is something that she could have done before her murder. It could be unlikely bot possible. Nothing is always news no days.

  • kbo0801 Sep 23, 2008

    How do they know that she did not sign up for this before she died???

  • wralcom2 Sep 23, 2008

    When people sign up on a web site, say Facebook, they can post any picture they like, even if it's not one of themselves. The most likely explanation is that someone "recently" signed up and used Eve Carson's photo as their own. Being in California, it's unlikely this Internet business had any idea. They might be a good or bad business. This is really irrelevant as long as they rectify it if notified.

  • Like that Sep 23, 2008

    Identity theft.... it happens whether you are dead or alive!!! I guess that something will be done about it now that her pic was posted on there.

  • ncweddingdj.com Sep 23, 2008

    THank you WRAL GOLO for resisting the urge...