Durham students win National Science Bowl

Posted May 3, 2010

A team of students from the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics won the 2010 U.S. Department of Energy National Science Bowl Monday.

The members of the team – Akhil Jariwala, Christian Johnson, Bryce Taylor, Patrick Yang, Alex Yoo and coach Leslie Brinson – will receive an all-expense-paid science research trip to study the ecosystems of Belize in Central America.

105 teams from 42 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands competed in the national finals of the 20th annual DOE National Science Bowl.


This story is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all
  • jervin6 May 5, 2010

    Congrats to all the students that represented the best and brightest our state has to offer. It is too bad they are not actually Durham Students and certainly not part of Durham Public School System. The school is state supported and run. In addition, each of the students on the team is not even from Durham County. DPS wishes they had that feather to put in their cap, but the reality is that WRAL should have written "North Carolina Students Win National Science Bowl" instead of “Durham Students”. Hello it is called the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics not the Durham School of Science and Mathematics.

  • crimson4u May 5, 2010

    congrats on the win! i love reading about brilliant young minds. way to represent our region and state!

  • golowral May 4, 2010

    This is cool. Does anyone know what their project was?

  • sww May 4, 2010

    Awesome! Good work! Enjoy your prize, it sounds really wonderful.

  • blondchk4 May 3, 2010

    Congratulations to these obviously smart students! I like reading positive news stories. It's too bad all the negative ones get most of the attention.

    Way to go gang!