Local News

New Raleigh city leaders sworn in

Posted November 30, 2015

— Leadership in the city of Raleigh was changing Monday night with a swearing-in ceremony and reception scheduled for new and returning city council members.

The swearing-in ceremony for newly elected members of Raleigh’s City Council was expected to begin at about 6 p.m. Monday night.

New City Council members Corey Branch, David Cox, and Richard “Dickie” Thompson will be sworn in along with returning council members Mary-Ann Baldwin, Kay Crowder, Bonner Gaylord and Russ Stephenson. Mayor Nancy McFarlane will also be returning for a third term.

Although Raleigh has a non-partisan city council, this is the first time in 20 years that there has not been a Republican serving.

McFarlane was expected to give a speech discussing her vision during her next term.

The swearing in ceremony and reception were open to the public, so people living in Raleigh were free to come shake hands with their new and returning city leaders and talk to them about their plans heading into the new year.


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all