NC governor creates teacher advisory committee

Posted August 18

Gov. Roy Cooper

— Gov. Roy Cooper announced Thursday that he is launching the Governor’s Teacher Advisory Committee and has appointed up to 25 teachers and support personnel to serve.

Members of the committee will "advise the governor on policies and the state budget and will also serve as education ambassadors, representing the governor at designated events, maintaining communication with local boards of education and stakeholders, and sharing opportunities for the governor to support teachers," according to Cooper's office.

"The Teacher Advisory Committee will give insight into how we can show educators the respect they deserve and be instrumental in helping North Carolina become a Top Ten Most Educated State by 2025," Cooper said in a statement.

Earlier this month, state lawmakers appointed 18 members of the education community to serve on two commissions – the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission and Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission.

Cooper appointed the following people to serve on the Governor’s Teacher Advisory Committee:

  • Tomika Altman-Lewis is an academically and intellectually gifted (AIG) facilitator/teacher at Fayetteville Street Elementary School.
  • Michael Bonner is an elementary school teacher at South Greenville Elementary School in Pitt County.
  • Lara Brickhouse is an adaptive physical education teacher in Durham County Schools.
  • Betty Brown teaches social studies at Zebulon GT Magnet School in Wake County.
  • Bobbie Cavnar is the 2016 North Carolina Teacher of the Year and teaches AP literature at South Point High School in Gaston County.
  • Christine Conley teaches music at Needham B. Broughton High School in Wake County.
  • Nashonda Cooke is a special education interventionist at Carroll Middle Magnet School in Wake County.
  • LeAnna Delph teaches English language arts and social studies at Joe P. Eblen Intermediate School in Buncombe County.
  • David Diamont is the head football coach at East Surry High School and teaches history as a substitute following 40+ years as a classroom teacher.
  • Lisa Godwin is the 2017 North Carolina Teacher of the Year.
  • Demetria Grissett is a career and technical education coordinator in Robeson County Schools.
  • Mark Jewell is the president of the North Carolina Association of Educators.
  • Tasha Martinez teaches English language arts at Warsaw Middle School in Duplin County.
  • Denise McCoy is a parent involvement coordinator for Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools.
  • Elyse McCrae teaches social studies at South Central High School in Pitt County.
  • Julio Morales teaches Spanish at Mattamuskeet Elementary School in Hyde County.
  • Juandalyn Ray Sampson is the teacher advancement coordinator and language arts teacher in Clinton City Schools.
  • Brad Rhew teaches science and math at Cook Literacy Model School in Forsyth County.
  • Mireya Ruiz teaches 2nd grade and Spanish at Siler City Elementary School in Chatham County.
  • Kimberly Sanderlin is an academically gifted/ELA specialist in Durham County Schools.
  • Nicole Sikes teaches art at Anson High School in Anson County.
  • Kimberley Strickland teaches 1st grade at River Dell Elementary in Johnston County.
  • Mark Townley teaches academic, honors, and AP earth and environmental science at Holly Springs High School in Wake County.
  • Keana Triplett is the 2015 North Carolina Teacher of the Year and teaches English at Ashe County High School.

Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all