NASCAR legends highlight first day of session

Posted May 14, 2014
Updated May 15, 2014

— The North Carolina House of Representatives passed a resolution Wednesday afternoon honoring five racing legends in Charlotte’s NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Maurice Petty, Tim Flock, Dale Jarrett, Jack Ingram and Fireball Roberts joined the ranks of celebrated drivers and crew members in the Hall of Fame, which inducts five new members each year.

Several Hall of Fame members and NASCAR champions, such as Rusty Wallace, Ned Jarrett and Richard Childress, gathered alongside new inductees. Flock and Roberts were honored posthumously.

Lawmakers praised stock car racing as an economic boon for the state that boosts tourism.

“What made NASCAR great in the beginning is the people,” said Rep. Grier Martin, D-Wake.

The sport that started with moonshine running has paved the way for innovation, echoing North Carolina’s boom in military technology.

Martin emphasized the need for university and community college programs training students to work in the racing industry, pointing to Winston-Salem State University’s program in motor sports management.

The resolution passed unanimously and will make its way to the Senate.


This blog post is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all