McFarlane to lead NC mayors

Posted December 18, 2012

— Raleigh Mayor Nancy McFarlane has been elected chairwoman of the North Carolina Metropolitan Mayors Coalition, which represents the mayors of the state’s 28 largest cities.

McFarlane succeeds Durham Mayor Bill Bell as the coalition’s leader and will steer the group in working with the General Assembly next year, advocating for policies that support economic development, strengthen transportation and promote public safety.

Huntersville Mayor Jill Swain was elected vice chairwoman, with Rocky Mount Mayor David Combs serving as treasurer. Members of the executive committee include Burlington Mayor Ronnie Wall, Wilmington Mayor Bill Saffo, Greensboro Mayor Robbie Perkins, Charlotte Mayor Anthony Foxx and Mooresville Mayor Miles Atkins.


This blog post is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all