McCrory transition releases list of key players

Posted December 28, 2012

— Soon after his election, Governor-elect Pat McCrory, a Republican, began dispatching working groups to examine various aspects of state government.

In November, McCrory's transition staff said these groups were informal and declined to try to list their membership. Today, roughly a week before McCrory is sworn in, the transition made a list of co-chairs of the committee available. Two groups, the Education and Government transformation, don't have members because their work will depend on the outcome of some of the other teams. 

Some members of the teams are Democrats and Independents, such as former Salisbury Mayor Susan Kluttz, who will serve as McCrory's Secretary of Cultural Resources, and Jim Crawford, a conservative state Representative. Lynn Muchmore, who is on the budget team, has served as a fiscal research director at the General Assembly. However, the biggest names that jump out are Republican stalwarts like Fred Smith, a former state senator and candidate for governor, Bill Cobey, a former state GOP chairman, Dale Folwell, the outgoing Speaker Pro Tempore of the House, and Rep. Bill Daughtridge. Here is the list as provided by the McCrory transition team: 

Department of Administration
LaNica Allison (Policy Analyst)
Bill Cobey, Raleigh (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Lynda Blount, Bethel (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Department of Commerce
Tony Almeida (Director of Economic Development)
Betsy Robeson (Policy Analyst)
Bill Daughtridge, Rocky Mount (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Joe Hallow, Charlotte (Volunteer Co-Chair)
John Kane, Raleigh (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Department of Cultural Resources
Lindsey Morton (Policy Analyst)
Blucher Ehringhaus, Charlotte (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Susan Klutz, Salisbury (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Tony Almeida (Director of Economic Development)
Neal Robbins (Policy Analyst)
Lyons Gray, Winston Salem (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Ven Poole, Raleigh (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Fred Smith, Clayton (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Department of Health & Human Services
Matthew McKillip (Deputy Policy Director)
Dennis Barry, Greensboro (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Pearl Burris-Floyd, Gastonia (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Department of Transportation
LaNica Allison (Policy Analyst)
Lou Bissette, Asheville (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Ned Currin, Charlotte (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Tommy Harrelson, Southport (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Department of Revenue
Andy Lancaster (Policy Analyst)
Linda Combs, Winston Salem (Volunteer Chair)

Information Systems
Neal Robbins (Policy Analyst)
Wil Neuman, Gastonia (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Gary Zukowski, Charlotte (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Lynn Muchmore (Budget Advisor)
Jim Crawford, Oxford (Volunteer Chair)

Tax Reform and Modernization
Andy Lancaster (Policy Analyst)
Dale Folwell, Winston Salem (Volunteer Co-Chair)
David Hauser, Charlotte (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Les Merritt, Raleigh (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Jobs and the Economy
Tony Almeida (Director of Economic Development)
Betsy Robeson (Policy Analyst)
Jack Cecil, Asheville (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Harry Smith, Greenville (Volunteer Co-Chair)
Steve Vanderwoude, Chapel Hill (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Public Safety Department
Lindsey Morton (Policy Analyst)
Jim Pendergraph, Charlotte (Volunteer Co-Chair)
William Dudley, Raleigh (Volunteer Co-Chair)

Education Reform

Government Transformation


This blog post is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all