Local News

Gov. Honors State's Top 20 Volunteers

Posted February 13, 2008

Twenty individuals and service groups received the North Carolina Medallion for Outstanding Volunteer Service awarded by the N.C. Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service.

Recipients were honored Wednesday at a luncheon at Magnolia Manor in Colfax, where they each received a medallion and a certificate in recognition of their service.

The honorees were:

Alexander County: Dr. Joel Inman
Alleghany County: Alleghany CARES, Inc.
Beaufort County: Loraine Babcock
Buncombe County: Bud Lewis Group
Burke County: Keith Atkins
Carteret County: Sydney Gray Pfaff
Currituck County: James D. Moseman
Dare County: Debra Tierney
Davidson County: Rev. Clyde Akers
Edgecombe County: Della Sherrod
Franklin County: Dorothy Robertson
Lee County: Grace Aiken
McDowell County: Gary and Judy Dale
New Hanover County: Leon West
Orange County: Ana Prothro
Rutherford County: Ted Tedford
Sampson County: Deidre Arndt
Vance County: Rev. Chuck Cook
Wake County: Rebecca Brenner
Wayne County: Bill and Jan Edgerton


This story is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all