National News

Gov. Deal declares state of emergency ahead of Hurricane Irma

Posted September 7

— As Hurricane Irma takes aim at the U.S., Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal has declared a state of emergency for six coastal counties.

In a statement, the Governor's Office said Deal was acting on a recommendation from the state's Emergency Operations Command. The emergency declaration includes Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh counties.

"Ahead of Hurricane Irma, I've issued an executive order prohibiting price gouging and waiving rules and regulations for motor vehicles transporting supplies, equipment, personnel, goods and services associated with disaster assistance and relief," Deal said.

"This state of emergency also ensures aid for the six counties potentially impacted by this catastrophic storm. We will continue monitoring Hurricane Irma's path in the days ahead and coordinating with our federal, state and local partners. I urge Georgians in the affected counties to remain vigilant and be prepared."


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all