Out & About

Out & About

Map
THURSDAY FORECAST
53°/ 27°

Beyond Bollywood: Indian Americans Shape the Nation

Categories: Arts
Visit Their Website

Rating: 1  2  3  4  5  
Avg User Rating: 5 out of 5
Total Votes: 1
to add your rating


The City of Raleigh Museum is pleased to announce the opening of its first Smithsonian Institution traveling exhibit in Oct. 2016 entitled, "Beyond Bollywood: Indian Americans Shape the Nation." The exhibit is the first national exhibit to celebrate the history and remarkable achievements of Indian Americans in the U.S. Beyond Bollywood was created in collaboration with the Smithsonian's Asian Pacific American Center with the goal of going beyond the stereotypes of Southeast Asian Indians by exploring their daily lives, to struggles in a new country and contributions to food, culture and politics. The Smithsonian Institution's Traveling Exhibition Service launched the traveling exhibit in May 2015 with the COR Museum being only the sixth institution to host the exhibit on its inaugural tour. "We were excited to open this exhibit in Raleigh" said Ernest Dollar, Director of the COR Museum, "It is a great opportunity to tell the story our rapidly growing Indian community through exploring Indian American's impact on American history." In addition, the museum is partnering local groups to present a series of public programs and events to highlight Wake County's connection to the exhibit. Beyond Bollywood will have an extended stay at the museum, from Oct. 29, 2016 to April 9, 2017. For more information, contact COR Museum Director Ernest Dollar.

Upcoming Places

City of Raleigh Museum
Wed, Dec 7 thru Sat, Dec 10 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Dec 13 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Dec 14 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Dec 20 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Dec 27 thru Sat, Dec 31 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Dec 22 thru Sat, Dec 24 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Dec 16 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Dec 15 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Dec 11 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Dec 18 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Dec 25 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 1 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 8 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 15 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 22 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 29 at 1pm-4pm
Tue, Jan 3 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Jan 10 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Jan 17 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Jan 24 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Jan 31 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Jan 4 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Jan 11 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Jan 18 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Jan 25 thru Thu, Jan 26 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Jan 12 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Jan 5 thru Sat, Jan 7 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Jan 13 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Jan 14 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Jan 20 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Jan 27 thru Sat, Jan 28 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Feb 1 thru Sat, Feb 4 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Mar 1 thru Sat, Mar 4 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Feb 9 thru Sat, Feb 11 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Feb 15 thru Sat, Feb 18 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Feb 22 thru Sat, Feb 25 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Mar 8 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Mar 7 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Feb 7 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Feb 14 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Feb 21 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Feb 28 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Mar 14 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Mar 21 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Mar 28 thru Fri, Mar 31 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Mar 23 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Mar 22 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Mar 15 thru Thu, Mar 16 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Mar 10 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Mar 11 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Mar 17 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Mar 18 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Mar 25 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Apr 1 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Apr 4 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Feb 5 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Feb 12 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Feb 19 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Feb 26 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Mar 5 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Mar 12 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Mar 19 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Mar 26 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Apr 2 at 1pm-4pm

WRAL & Yelp Reviews

No reviews at this time.

Please to add a review.

Event Data Provided by Eventful