Out & About

Out & About

Map
FRIDAY FORECAST
59°/ 51°

Exhibition: History and Mystery: Discoveries in the NCMA British Collection

Categories: Arts
Visit Their Website
Pricing info: Free

Rating: 1  2  3  4  5  
Not Yet Rated

to add your rating


History and Mystery showcases the very best of the NCMA's permanent collection of Old Master British paintings and sculpture from 1580 to 1850. This exhibition is anchored by an extraordinary group of nine Elizabethan and Jacobean aristocratic portraits from about 1580 to 1620 that has been the focus of an ongoing research project involving the NCMA Conservation and Curatorial departments and students and faculty from UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke. The exhibition also provides the opportunity to reexamine familiar favorites in the collection from new perspectives and to display a few "hidden treasures" that have rarely--or never before--been on public view.

History and Mystery is one in a series of permanent collection focus exhibitions highlighting the work of the NCMA's Conservation Department.

Upcoming Places

North Carolina Museum of Art
Fri, Jan 20 at 10, - 9
Fri, Jan 27 at 10, - 9
Sun, Jan 22 at 10, - 5
Sun, Jan 29 at 10, - 5
Tue, Jan 24 at 10, - 5
Tue, Jan 31 at 10, - 5
Wed, Jan 25 at 10, - 5
Thu, Jan 19 at 10, - 5
Thu, Jan 26 at 10, - 5
Sat, Jan 21 at 10, - 5
Sat, Jan 28 at 10, - 5
Sun, Feb 5 at 10, - 5
Sun, Feb 12 at 10, - 5
Sun, Feb 19 at 10, - 5
Sun, Feb 26 at 10, - 5
Wed, Feb 8 at 10, - 5
Tue, Feb 7 at 10, - 5
Tue, Feb 14 at 10, - 5
Tue, Feb 21 at 10, - 5
Tue, Feb 28 at 10, - 5
Wed, Feb 15 at 10, - 5
Wed, Feb 1 at 10, - 5
Wed, Feb 22 at 10, - 5
Thu, Feb 2 at 10, - 5
Thu, Feb 9 at 10, - 5
Thu, Feb 16 at 10, - 5
Thu, Feb 23 at 10, - 5
Sat, Feb 4 at 10, - 5
Sat, Feb 11 at 10, - 5
Sat, Feb 18 at 10, - 5
Sat, Feb 25 at 10, - 5
Sun, Mar 5 at 10, - 5
Sun, Mar 12 at 10, - 5
Sun, Mar 19 at 10, - 5
Tue, Mar 7 at 10, - 5
Tue, Mar 14 at 10, - 5
Wed, Mar 1 at 10, - 5
Wed, Mar 8 at 10, - 5
Wed, Mar 15 at 10, - 5
Thu, Mar 2 at 10, - 5
Thu, Mar 9 at 10, - 5
Thu, Mar 16 at 10, - 5
Sat, Mar 4 at 10, - 5
Sat, Mar 11 at 10, - 5
Sat, Mar 18 at 10, - 5
Fri, Feb 3 at 10, - 9
Fri, Feb 10 at 10, - 9
Fri, Feb 17 at 10, - 9
Fri, Feb 24 at 10, - 9
Fri, Mar 3 at 10, - 9
Fri, Mar 10 at 10, - 9
Fri, Mar 17 at 10, - 9

WRAL & Yelp Reviews

No reviews at this time.

Please to add a review.

Event Data Provided by Eventful