Local News

Duke Lacrosse Review Panel Schedules First Meeting

Posted July 6, 2007
Updated July 7, 2007

Map Marker  Find News Near Me

— A committee appointed to examine the Durham Police Department's handling of the Duke University lacrosse team sexual assault case will hold its first meeting on July 20.

Chairman Willis Whichard, a former state Supreme Court justice, said the attorneys for wrongly accused lacrosse players Reade Seligmann, Collin Finnerty and David Evans - and possibly the players themselves - will be the first people called to present information to the committee.

He said their testimony will allow members of the police department to know what the defendants contend was done wrong in the investigation before they are called before the committee.

The Durham City Council called for an independent review of the case in May after the police department issued a report finding no wrongdoing by investigators in the case. Mayor Bill Bell said the internal review left questions unanswered.

7 Comments

Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • rayzer Jul 7, 2007

    "I am so glad that the City of Durham has all this money to throw around. I wonder how much of a tax hike this will cost."

    Taxes will rise in Duh-ram with or without this investigation. People in Duh-ram love taxes.

  • dregister Jul 7, 2007

    Refreshing news. The accuser may speak for the first time. I wonder why so many Duke lacrosse supporters are advising her to stay away? Not for her own good, but perhaps maybe for theirs.

  • Nancy Jul 6, 2007

    "Don't you think that a police department that violates civil rights, tampers with witnesses, profiles, and generates false reports not based on original police notes, needs to be investigated?"

    Absolutely. And I hope the feds are watching.

  • whocares Jul 6, 2007

    I am so glad that the City of Durham has all this money to throw around. I wonder how much of a tax hike this will cost.

  • Rabid Wolf Jul 6, 2007

    How much will this cost the City of Durham? They have so much money to throw around.

  • Duke 79 Jul 6, 2007

    Don't you think that a police department that violates civil rights, tampers with witnesses, profiles, and generates false reports not based on original police notes, needs to be investigated?

  • Brick Tamland Jul 6, 2007

    Please, let this story die.