Green Guide

Drought emergency for 28 Alabama counties

Posted 6:58 p.m. Tuesday

— Twenty-eight Alabama counties have been placed under a drought emergency.

The Alabama Drought Declaration issued Tuesday comes after conditions across the stare continue to degrade due to little rainfall and above normal temperatures.

The counties now under emergency status are:

Region 1: Colbert, DeKalb, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall and Morgan

Region 3: Blount, Cherokee, Cullman, Etowah, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Walker and Winston

Region 4: Calhoun, Chambers, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Randolph, Talladega and Tallapoosa

Office of Water Resources' Water Management Unit manager Tom Littlepage says falling reservoir and groundwater levels also have indicated drought conditions have become more severe, particularly in north, east and central Alabama.

Water managers are urged to monitor water sources and implement conservation measures as needed.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all