Out & About

Out & About

N.C. Museum of Natural Sciences

Voters Choice 2016 Our 5 Faves
Nature Research Center
Categories: Attractions, Families & Parenting, Community, Free
11 W Jones St, Raleigh, NC 27601
Hours: Mon–Sat: 9 am–5 pm, Sun: 12 pm–5 pm
(919) 707-9800
Visit Their Website

Rating: 1  2  3  4  5  
Avg User Rating: 4 out of 5
Total Votes: 9
to add your rating


The North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences is the largest museum of its kind in the Southeast. Through our exhibits, programs and field experiences, we provide visitors with opportunities to get up close and personal with science and nature.

General Admission is free, although donations are cheerfully accepted. There is a cover charge for the Rainforest Adventure special exhibit and 3D movies. Discounts are available! Children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult.

Parking is available weekdays in several public pay parking decks within walking distance of the Museum.

  • An above-ground lot is located one block east of the Museum, with entrances on Jones and Edenton Streets.
  • The Green Square parking deck is at the corner of Edenton and McDowell Streets, behind the NRC. The entrance to the deck is on Edenton between Salisbury and McDowell Streets. Exit the deck on the north side and you will be at the back entrance to the NRC.
  • Limited metered parking is available along Jones and Edenton Streets. Parking is free and abundant on weekends.

Is this your business? Update your free WRAL Out & About business profile by emailing us your logo or a picture of your business now.

Map

Upcoming Events

RACE: Are we so different?
Mon, Jun 26 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Jun 30 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Jun 29 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Jun 28 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Jun 27 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Jul 1 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Jul 3 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Jul 10 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Jul 17 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Jul 24 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Jul 31 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Jul 4 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Jul 11 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Jul 18 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Jul 25 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Jul 5 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Jul 12 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Jul 19 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Jul 26 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Jul 6 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Jul 13 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Jul 20 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Jul 27 thru Fri, Jul 28 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Jul 21 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Jul 15 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Jul 14 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Jul 7 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Jul 8 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Jul 29 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Aug 7 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Aug 14 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Aug 10 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Aug 15 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Aug 23 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Aug 22 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Aug 21 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Aug 28 thru Thu, Aug 31 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Aug 16 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Aug 9 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Aug 1 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Aug 8 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Aug 2 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Aug 3 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Aug 17 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Aug 24 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Aug 26 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Aug 25 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Aug 18 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Aug 11 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Aug 4 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Aug 5 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Aug 12 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Sep 1 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Sep 13 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Sep 4 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Sep 11 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Sep 18 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Sep 25 thru Sat, Sep 30 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Sep 20 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Sep 19 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Sep 12 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Sep 5 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Sep 6 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Sep 14 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Sep 7 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Sep 9 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Sep 8 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Sep 15 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Sep 2 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Sep 16 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Sep 22 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Sep 23 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Oct 2 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Oct 9 at 10am-5pm
Mon, Oct 16 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Oct 17 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Oct 19 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Oct 18 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Oct 21 at 10am-5pm
Thu, Oct 12 at 10am-5pm
Tue, Oct 10 thru Wed, Oct 11 at 10am-5pm
Wed, Oct 4 thru Fri, Oct 6 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Oct 13 at 10am-5pm
Fri, Oct 20 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Oct 7 at 10am-5pm
Sat, Oct 14 at 10am-5pm
Sun, Oct 1 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Oct 8 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Oct 15 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Oct 22 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Sep 3 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Sep 10 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Sep 17 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Sep 24 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Aug 6 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Aug 13 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Aug 20 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Aug 27 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Jul 2 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Jul 9 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Jul 16 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Jul 23 at 12pm-5pm
Sun, Jul 30 at 12pm-5pm

TUESDAY FORECAST
78°/ 57°

WRAL & Yelp Reviews

user image
Ryan R. Jun 14, 2017
rating
yelp logo
It was an excellent museum. Very friendly for kids. We had such a good time. The fact that it was free was an amazing value. We did all 4 stories in about... (more)
user image
June S. May 29, 2017
rating
yelp logo
First visit to downtown Raleigh was to the science museum on Memorial Day. Husband was very sunburned from our first trip to Carolina Beach on Saturday and... (more)
user image
Brian C. Apr 23, 2017
rating
yelp logo
A nice way to spend a couple hours when in Downtown Raleigh. On a rainy day the wife and I decided to hit up the Museum. I hadn't been in well over a... (more)
panteraachickk1111 Apr 18, 2014
1  2  3  4  5  
Love this museum. It's got everything and the staff is awesome. My son loves the butterfly room.

Please to add a review.

Event Data Provided by Eventful