Out & About

Out & About

72°/ 49°

City of Raleigh Museum

Categories: Attractions, Families & Parenting, Community, Hopscotch
220 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Hours: Tue-Sat 9a-4p, Sun 1-4p, First Fridays 6-9p. Closed Monday.
(919) 996-2220
Visit Their Website

Rating: 1  2  3  4  5  
Not Yet Rated

to add your rating

For more than 200 years, North Carolina’s capital city had no repository for its historical artifacts, no place to preserve its past, and no institution to educate its citizens and visitors. That all changed in 1993 when the COR Museum (formerly Raleigh City Museum) debuted its first exhibit.

The COR Museum grew out of the dream of local historian Beth Crabtree, and after Beth’s death, the vision and perseverance of Mary Cates. The museum operated as non-profit until July 2012, when the City of Raleigh assumed operation control.

As part of its mission to “Preserve Raleigh’s Past for the Future,” the museum collects and cares for artifacts, curates exhibits, and provides educational programing that highlight and interpret Raleigh’s history and heritage.

The COR Museum is an integral part of the community for the services it provides to the general public. As the state capital and as its own municipality, Raleigh has a unique history that is worth recognizing and sharing.

Is this your business? Update your free WRAL Out & About business profile by emailing us your logo or a picture of your business now.

Upcoming Events

Beyond Bollywood: Indian Americans Shape the Nation
Sat, Oct 29 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Oct 30 at 1pm-4pm
Tue, Nov 1 thru Sat, Nov 5 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Nov 6 at 1pm-4pm
Tue, Nov 8 thru Sat, Nov 12 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Nov 13 at 1pm-4pm
Tue, Nov 15 thru Sat, Nov 19 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Nov 20 at 1pm-4pm
Tue, Nov 22 thru Sat, Nov 26 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Nov 27 at 1pm-4pm
Tue, Nov 29 thru Sat, Dec 3 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Dec 6 thru Sat, Dec 10 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Dec 13 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Dec 14 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Dec 20 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Dec 27 thru Sat, Dec 31 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Dec 22 thru Sat, Dec 24 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Dec 16 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Dec 15 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Dec 4 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Dec 11 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Dec 18 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Dec 25 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 1 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 8 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 15 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 22 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Jan 29 at 1pm-4pm
Tue, Jan 3 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Jan 10 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Jan 17 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Jan 24 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Jan 31 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Jan 4 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Jan 11 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Jan 18 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Jan 25 thru Thu, Jan 26 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Jan 12 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Jan 5 thru Sat, Jan 7 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Jan 13 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Jan 14 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Jan 20 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Jan 27 thru Sat, Jan 28 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Feb 1 thru Sat, Feb 4 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Mar 1 thru Sat, Mar 4 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Feb 9 thru Sat, Feb 11 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Feb 15 thru Sat, Feb 18 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Feb 22 thru Sat, Feb 25 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Mar 8 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Mar 7 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Feb 7 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Feb 14 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Feb 21 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Feb 28 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Mar 14 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Mar 21 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Mar 28 thru Fri, Mar 31 at 9am-4pm
Thu, Mar 23 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Mar 22 at 9am-4pm
Wed, Mar 15 thru Thu, Mar 16 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Mar 10 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Mar 11 at 9am-4pm
Fri, Mar 17 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Mar 18 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Mar 25 at 9am-4pm
Sat, Apr 1 at 9am-4pm
Tue, Apr 4 at 9am-4pm
Sun, Feb 5 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Feb 12 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Feb 19 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Feb 26 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Mar 5 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Mar 12 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Mar 19 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Mar 26 at 1pm-4pm
Sun, Apr 2 at 1pm-4pm

WRAL & Yelp Reviews

user image
Charlie F. Aug 15, 2015
yelp logo
Being a Raleigh native, I understand a few things about the space. It is in the historic Briggs Hardware Building, and I appreciate a current use of this... (more)
user image
Teresa S. Aug 11, 2015
yelp logo
I visited this museum over a year ago and it was small but informative. I don't recall a parking lot and we had to pay for street parking. When you first... (more)
user image
Ann H. Jun 19, 2015
yelp logo
I like museums. I wasn't sure I'd like this one, though, because museums are ancient history and Raleigh isn't that old (relatively speaking). Once again,... (more)

Please to add a review.

Event Data Provided by Eventful