banner
Out & About

Out & About

Map Marker  Find News Near Me

Map
TUESDAY FORECAST
84°/ 60°

North Carolina Museum of History

Categories: Arts, Attractions, Families & Parenting, Community
5 East Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Hours: Monday through Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Sunday: Noon to 5:00 p.m.
(919) 807-7853
Visit Their Website

Rating: 1  2  3  4  5  
Avg User Rating: 5 out of 5
Total Votes: 1
to add your rating


The North Carolina Museum of History is the guardian of North Carolina's history, heritage, and culture, helping people understand the present and prepare for the future by understanding the past.One of the most popular attractions in the state, the NC Musuem of History presents a constantly-changing menu of short and long-term exhibits, highlighting artifacts from its own collection as well as collaborating with other major museums in the US and abroad.

Is this your business? Update your free WRAL Out & About business profile by emailing us your logo or a picture of your business now.

Upcoming Events

Cedars In The Pines
Mon, Jul 28: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jul 29: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jul 30: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jul 31: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 1: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 2: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 3: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Aug 4: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Aug 5: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Aug 6: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Aug 7: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 8: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 9: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 10: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Aug 11: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Aug 12: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Aug 13: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Aug 14: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 15: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 16: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 17: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Aug 18: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Aug 19: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Aug 20: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Aug 21: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 22: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 23: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 24: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Aug 25: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Aug 26: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Aug 27: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Aug 28: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 29: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 30: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 31: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.

Exhibit: Stagville: Black & White
Mon, Jul 28: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Jul 29: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Jul 30: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Jul 31: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Aug 1: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Aug 2: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Aug 3: noon-5 pm
Mon, Aug 4: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Aug 5: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Aug 6: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Aug 7: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Aug 8: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Aug 9: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Aug 10: noon-5 pm
Mon, Aug 11: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Aug 12: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Aug 13: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Aug 14: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Aug 15: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Aug 16: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Aug 17: noon-5 pm
Mon, Aug 18: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Aug 19: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Aug 20: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Aug 21: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Aug 22: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Aug 23: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Aug 24: noon-5 pm
Mon, Aug 25: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Aug 26: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Aug 27: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Aug 28: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Aug 29: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Aug 30: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Aug 31: noon-5 pm
Tue, Sep 2: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Sep 3: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Sep 4: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Sep 5: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Sep 6: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Sep 7: noon-5 pm
Mon, Sep 8: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Sep 9: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Sep 10: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Sep 11: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Sep 12: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Sep 13: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Sep 14: noon-5 pm
Mon, Sep 15: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Sep 16: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Sep 17: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Sep 18: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Sep 19: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Sep 20: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Sep 21: noon-5 pm
Mon, Sep 22: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Sep 23: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Sep 24: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Sep 25: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Sep 26: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Sep 27: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Sep 28: noon-5 pm
Mon, Sep 29: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Sep 30: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Oct 1: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Oct 2: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Oct 3: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Oct 4: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Oct 5: noon-5 pm
Mon, Oct 6: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Oct 7: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Oct 8: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Oct 9: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Oct 10: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Oct 11: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Oct 12: noon-5 pm
Mon, Oct 13: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Oct 14: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Oct 15: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Oct 16: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Oct 17: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Oct 18: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Oct 19: noon-5 pm
Mon, Oct 20: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Oct 21: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Oct 22: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Oct 23: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Oct 24: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Oct 25: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Oct 26: noon-5 pm
Mon, Oct 27: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Oct 28: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Oct 29: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Oct 30: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Oct 31: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Nov 1: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Nov 2: noon-5 pm
Mon, Nov 3: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Nov 4: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Nov 5: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Nov 6: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Nov 7: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Nov 8: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Nov 9: noon-5 pm
Mon, Nov 10: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Nov 12: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Nov 13: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Nov 14: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Nov 15: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Nov 16: noon-5 pm
Mon, Nov 17: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Nov 18: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Nov 19: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Nov 20: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Nov 21: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Nov 22: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Nov 23: noon-5 pm
Mon, Nov 24: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Nov 25: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Nov 26: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Nov 28: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Nov 29: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Nov 30: noon-5 pm
Mon, Dec 1: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Dec 2: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Dec 3: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Dec 4: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Dec 5: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Dec 6: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Dec 7: noon-5 pm
Mon, Dec 8: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Dec 9: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Dec 10: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Dec 11: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Dec 12: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Dec 13: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Dec 14: noon-5 pm
Mon, Dec 15: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Dec 16: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Dec 17: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Dec 18: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Dec 19: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Dec 20: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Dec 21: noon-5 pm
Mon, Dec 22: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Dec 23: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Dec 26: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Dec 27: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Dec 28: noon-5 pm
Mon, Dec 29: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Dec 30: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Dec 31: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Jan 2, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Jan 3, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Jan 4, 2015: noon-5 pm
Mon, Jan 5, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Jan 6, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Jan 7, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Jan 8, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Jan 9, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Jan 10, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Jan 11, 2015: noon-5 pm
Mon, Jan 12, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Tue, Jan 13, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Jan 14, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Jan 15, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Jan 16, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Jan 17, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Jan 18, 2015: noon-5 pm
Tue, Jan 20, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Wed, Jan 21, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Thu, Jan 22, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Fri, Jan 23, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Sat, Jan 24, 2015: 9 am-5 pm
Sun, Jan 25, 2015: noon-5 pm

Stagville: Black & White
Mon, Jul 28: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jul 29: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jul 30: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jul 31: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 1: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 2: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 3: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Aug 4: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Aug 5: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Aug 6: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Aug 7: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 8: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 9: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 10: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Aug 11: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Aug 12: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Aug 13: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Aug 14: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 15: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 16: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 17: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Aug 18: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Aug 19: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Aug 20: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Aug 21: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 22: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 23: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 24: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Aug 25: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Aug 26: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Aug 27: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Aug 28: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Aug 29: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Aug 30: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Aug 31: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Sep 1: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Sep 2: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Sep 3: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Sep 4: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Sep 5: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Sep 6: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Sep 7: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Sep 8: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Sep 9: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Sep 10: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Sep 11: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Sep 12: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Sep 13: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Sep 14: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Sep 15: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Sep 16: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Sep 17: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Sep 18: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Sep 19: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Sep 20: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Sep 21: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Sep 22: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Sep 23: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Sep 24: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Sep 25: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Sep 26: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Sep 27: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Sep 28: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Sep 29: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Sep 30: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Oct 1: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Oct 2: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Oct 3: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Oct 4: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Oct 5: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Oct 6: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Oct 7: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Oct 8: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Oct 9: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Oct 10: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Oct 11: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Oct 12: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Oct 13: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Oct 14: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Oct 15: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Oct 16: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Oct 17: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Oct 18: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Oct 19: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Oct 20: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Oct 21: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Oct 22: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Oct 23: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Oct 24: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Oct 25: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Oct 26: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Oct 27: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Oct 28: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Oct 29: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Oct 30: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Oct 31: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Nov 1: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Nov 2: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Nov 3: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Nov 4: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Nov 5: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Nov 6: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Nov 7: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Nov 8: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Nov 9: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Nov 10: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Nov 11: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Nov 12: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Nov 13: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Nov 14: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Nov 15: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Nov 16: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Nov 17: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Nov 18: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Nov 19: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Nov 20: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Nov 21: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Nov 22: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Nov 23: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Nov 24: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Nov 25: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Nov 26: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Nov 27: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Nov 28: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Nov 29: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Nov 30: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Dec 1: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 2: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 3: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Dec 4: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Dec 5: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 6: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Dec 7: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Dec 8: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 9: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 10: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Dec 11: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Dec 12: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 13: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Dec 14: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Dec 15: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 16: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 17: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Dec 18: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Dec 19: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 20: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Dec 21: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Dec 22: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 23: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 24: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Dec 25: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Dec 26: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 27: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Dec 28: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Dec 29: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 30: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 31: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 1, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 2, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 3, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 4, 2015: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Jan 5, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jan 6, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jan 7, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 8, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 9, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 10, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 11, 2015: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Jan 12, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jan 13, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jan 14, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 15, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 16, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 17, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 18, 2015: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Mon, Jan 19, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jan 20, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jan 21, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 22, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 23, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 24, 2015: 9 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 25, 2015: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.

Storytime in the Gallery
Thu, Jul 31: 10–10:30 a.m.
Thu, Aug 7: 10–10:30 a.m.
Thu, Aug 14: 10–10:30 a.m.
Thu, Aug 21: 10–10:30 a.m.
Thu, Aug 28: 10–10:30 a.m.

Cedars in the Pines on the Plaza
Sat, Aug 2: 11 a.m.–4 p.m.

Exhibit Closing: Formed, Fired, and Finished: Art Pottery from the James-Farmer Collection
Sun, Aug 3: noon-5 pm

WRAL & Yelp Reviews

user image
jerrilynn s. Jul 16, 2014
rating
yelp logo
We wandered Into this museum while looking for the natural science museum. I am glad we did. It was very informative about various historical aspects of the... (more)
user image
Ani C. Jul 8, 2014
rating
yelp logo
I was hoping for a bit more here. Its really nice that it's next door to the science museum and its free! The drug store is one exhibit not to be missed.
user image
Leigh H. Jun 10, 2014
rating
yelp logo
This museum has it's good and bad points. The Good: 1. Very large for a free museum. There is a lot to see here. 2. Collection of interesting items that... (more)

Please to add a review.